International Minerals Innovation Institute

IMII announces 2023/2024 iMpowered scholarship recipients

Supporting students on their career path for the minerals industry

Saskatoon, SK (Canada)

The IMII, on behalf of its minerals industry members – BHP, Cameco, Fission Uranium, The Mosaic Company and Nutrien, and Innovation Saskatchewan, is pleased to announce the recipients of its iMpowered scholarship – ten students are receiving scholarships totaling $125,000. 

The iMpowered scholarship recipients for the 2023/2024 academic year are:

  • Dylan Bauman, Civil Engineering, University of Saskatchewan
  • Mario Gonzalez Inglés, Environmental Engineering, University of Saskatchewan
  • Jade Saunders, Geological Engineering, University of Saskatchewan
  • Edison Macatangay, Instrumentation Engineering Technology, Saskatchewan Polytechnic
  • Lauren Klassen, Civil Engineering – Masters of Science – Thesis, University of Saskatchewan
  • Martin Molina, Chemical Engineering, University of Saskatchewan
  • Mila Szautner, Geological Engineering, University of Saskatchewan
  • Ruben Corlan, Electronic Systems Engineering Technology, Saskatchewan Polytechnic
  • Erica Anaquod, Environmental Engingeering Technology, Saskatchewan Polytechnic
  • Damiete Bob-Manuel, Electrical Engineering Technology, Saskatchewan Polytechnic


“This is the fifth year IMII is awarding iMpowered Scholarships, and the program is part of a commitment made by the minerals industry to build a workforce that is representative of the communities in which we operate,” says Al Shpyth, IMII’s executive director. “This year’s recipients reflect not only this commitment but also the diversity of the educational pathways to careers in the minerals industry.”

“Their diversity also represents the vision of our province’s motto – from many peoples strength,” he added.

With an expanded scope this year, the iMpowered scholarship supports women, Indigenous students, mature students, and new immigrants on their education journey towards a career in the minerals industry in Saskatchewan.  Recipients must be enrolled full-time in a program that is related to the minerals industry at one of IMII’s member post-secondary institutions and intend to seek a career in the minerals industry.  The iMpowered scholarship is part of a multi-year commitment to help build a diverse, inclusive, and qualified workforce for Saskatchewan’s minerals industry.

Congratulations to this year’s recipients, we’re proud to support your goals through this scholarship!

News Release

Back Row L-R: Steve McLellan – IMII, Tanya Smith - BHP, Craig Funk – Nutrien, Jeremy Breker – Cameco, Murray Schultz – Mosaic, Al Shpyth – IMII Front Row L-R: Martin Molina, Edison Macatangay, Mario Gonzalez Inglés, Jade Saunders, Mila Szautner, Ruben Corlan, Lauren Klassen, Dylan Bauman